Skip To Main Content

English Learners


If you have any questions, please contact the ELL Staff specific to your student's school building.
Southridge High School
Abby Lutgring
Amanda Bauer

Southridge Middle School
Claudia Tascon-Pena
Tiffany Neuhoff

Huntingburg Elementary
Kristin Nordhoff - Grades 3-5
Michaela Bolling - Grades K-2

Southwest Dubois County Schools EL Coordinator

Tiffany Beckley



The Southwest Dubois County School Corporation is committed to meeting the educational needs of each student by generating positive outcomes for all students. The English Language Learner staff members in each building use a combination of push-in, pull-out and co-teaching services to support the students’ needs and engage students in all domains of language acquisition through individualized accommodations and specialized instruction, according to the Individual Learning Plans (ILPs).

What is English Language Learner (ELL) Programming?

ELL programming refers to a methodology of providing instructional services to language minority students. A language minority student is any child whose linguistic background, such as country of origin or home environment, includes a language other than English. ELL services enhance students’ acquisitions of English Language Proficiency and understanding of academic content. Modifications are made to lessons and assignments by the ELL teacher and the teacher in the content area classrooms with the appropriate level of English language development scaffolds for each student.

ELL Proficiency Levels

ELL student’s proficiency level is determined by assessing his/her listening, speaking, reading, writing, and comprehension with a formal English language Proficiency instrument that identifies students with an ELP level 1 through 6.

      • Level 1 – Entering: Student does not understand or speak English with few exceptions.
      • Level 2 – Beginning: Student understands conversational and academic English with some difficulty
      • Level 3 – Developing: Student responds with increasing ease to more varied communication tasks.
      • Level 4 – Expanding: Student understands and speaks conversational English, but may still need support with academic language
      • Level 5 – Bridging: Student is able to understand and speak conversational and academic English, although they may still require occasional support
      • Level 6 – Reaching: Student can communicate effectively without difficulty and display academic achievement

What is WIDA?

WIDA stands for World Class Instructional Design and Assessment. WIDA are a comprehensive set of ELP standards. These standards are designed to help teachers provide high quality instruction and equitable educational opportunities for all K-12 English Learners. The WIDA standards address the acquisition of social/instructional and academic English across all content areas.

The WIDA English Language Development (ELD) standards promote academic language development for English Learners in five areas:

      • Social and Instructional language or the language of school
        • ex: Organize your notes for your test over the civil war
      • Language of Language Arts
      • Language of Mathematics
      • Language of Science
      • Language of Social Studies

WIDA Resources